Looking Positive…

I have just spent the last two weeks at the gym every day and eating really well in the expectation that I will kick start my weightloss and make me feel better with an endorphin rush. I actually do feel more positive, more energy and feel better about myself. I think I have lost some weight also as my trousers are looking like they want to fall down. I have burned a minimum of 500 calories a day and sometimes as high as 1,000. I have also eaten loads of fruit and vegetables, complex carbs and my latest love which is called Maxta mix. It is a mix of chia seeds, flax seeds, goji berries and white maxta tea all ground up. I sprinkled it on my weetabix on day 1 and I was stuffed. Day 2 I had one less weetabix biscuit and the mix which was just right.

I conquered a fear this week – I ran outside along the beach in the DAYLIGHT. I didn’t need to use the Vampire method. I didn’t feel self conscious at all. I thought I would drop dead and cough up my lungs but it didn’t happen. I felt it was difficult to catch my breath but that came on with a little time. I ran with my housemate, chances are I would not have done it alone. Our initial strategy was to run between the Gormley statues. Along my beach are 100 iron statues of Anthony Gormley. They are spaced and specific intervals making them easy to use as a point in which to judge the distances.

sunday7

We have been out twice and run for around 30 minutes a time. Not bad for a start. Sunday will be the next run. We were supposed to go out yesterday but at the moment Liverpool is in the middle of a storm and living on the beach means it is exceptionally windy.

  Three weeks ago I decided to rejoin Weight Watchers. I didn’t want to use the Pro points system, rather I just wanted to be answerable to somebody else on the scale. I weighed in at 15stone three weeks ago. Back up to that higher weight. My head is in the right place now and I have begun to built up some new habits.

  1. eating decent food.
  2. making the most of the morning and getting up early to nip over to the gym.
  3. plan food and exercise and sticking to both.
  4. developing a positive mental attitude.
  5. keeping a food diary.

I am happy to have begun my foray into running, having managed to get to the gym every day and having eaten quite well this past two weeks. I am hoping my weigh-in on Monday will reflect the hard work.

Next week’s food is already planned and I am working on where I can fit exercise in. I used my heart rate monitor and in two weeks I burned just over 7000 calories.  That was quite mad and I am going to aim for 500 calories per day minimum. Here is to running next week… x

brooks

Leave a Reply

