Busy busy busy…

Christmas is almost upon me. I have been busy making little gifts for my team mates at work.  I decided to make each person a bag of Sweeties. I know they love mint and I found a really easy and delicious recipe for Peppermint Patties, thanks Amanda. Maybe adding a little silver bell to the ribbon would make them festive… well yes…and why not make tiny festive houses from modelling clay painted with acrylic and tiny lights in the window… oh where will it end…?

 

The Houses…

Ok I started here with the basic shape of the house…

062

Added small brass hooks and then painted them to make these little cuties…

house2

I am going to attach one plus a little silver bell to each package of Peppermint Patties and hand them to each of my work mates…

house1

I hope they go down well. I have initialled and dated each house on the bottom. I have never made anything like this for my colleagues so fingers crossed they actually like them. I hope the little houses end up on their trees.

The Patties…

Ingredients…

pa1

those chocolate buttons are uber luxurious.

pa2

pa3

She was readied up and all set to go.

pa5  pa4

after much measuring, mixing and messing (which I loved). The minty dough was ready to roll out. I added more icing sugar and rolled up the dough kneading it until it was smooth and soft. Using a shot glass I pushed out a few batches of patties. Each one was left in the freezer while I melted the chocolate…

pa6

The addition of the coconut oil made the chocolate far easier to play with. The patties …

pa7

The final product…

001

I handed them out this morning to delighted squeals of delight. Phew xx

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amanda
    Dec 13, 2011 @ 22:01:58

    These are adorable!

    And your KitchenAid is so pretty. I love the color and glass bowl!

    Reply

    • billie09
      Dec 13, 2011 @ 22:15:39

      Thank you so much for that amazing recipe. All things that happen in my life seem to be started with the slightest little project and your amazing patties sparked the whole little house project. I love that KitchenAid, I even bought a christmas decoration for it the same colour and is now hanging in the kitchen. I am making nut brittle this week alongside more patties as I have been asked for more. How is your little Peppermint Puppy getting along?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

