Liverpool Marathon 2011…

I was there, albeit in the capacity of a Marshall giving out medals, t-shirts and water but it was such an exciting event. I was overwhelmed by the messages and pictures on t-shirts running in memory of people who had sadly left us, young and old alike. The emotions of some of the runners as they crossed the finish line after the epic run was also touching.

marathon1

 As I am built for comfort and not for speed I have never really made friends with running at all but I have decided it would be something I would like to try. I know the revelation that things ‘always seems better in theory than in practice’ really hit home earlier this year but I think I could train for and manage a 10k. After that I will decide if I want to go further. I would just love to try a Tri as I am a natural cyclist and swimmer. The running bit has been the one that always puts me off.

It has been a week since the Marathon so I have put plenty of thought into the 10k and will be signing up to the first of the season as soon as race applications open. Liverpool is a decent city for sport and http://www.runliverpool.org.uk/ is a series of races in the city each year. I have signed up to the mailshots and the first 10k will be mine. Watch this space.

MY GYM(S)…

gym1

gym

My gym(s).. I love the location of this one, it is right on the beach with an immense lake that is used by the triathlon club, dragon boat club, yacht club and every other water based club. I love it here so serene and just a 10 minute walk along the beach from its sister gym which has a fabulous pool, really good classes, massive sports centre with martial arts, trampolines etc and all for £19 a month for both. Also and a HUGE bonus the sister gym is exactly (and I have timed this) 37 seconds FROM MY HOUSE.

Remember I had problems remembering my goals each month and decided they had to be visible? Well I have found this little beauty. It is a set of Blackbird paperclips on a wire to hold cards and photos etc. I have set it up by my bed and will put a goal I want to achieve each month. They are so sweet.

bill

(can’t see Bill’s name too well on the blue wall but will use white postcards for my goals)

Leave a Reply

