shivering…

It is so cold here we recorded –17 degrees here in Crosby last night. My kitchen thermometer is reading 2 degrees so I don’t want to go in there at the moment. Had a little read of the BUPA 5k programme last night and it is something I would like to try before I decide on the Liverpool triathlon. I think I am going to try it starting before the new year. I want to get the Christmas weekend out of the way and then detox from all the crap I have been eating for a few week which will give me time to plan my lunch menus for the first two weeks of January.

The first 8 weeks of the BUPA 5k is looking like this (I plan on starting this training w/c 27th December)

 

Week 1
w/c 27/12/2010

Week 2
w/c 3/1/2011

Week 3
w/c 10/1/2011

Week 4
w/c 17/1/2011

Week 5
w/c 24/1/2011

Week 6
w/c 31/1/2011

Week 7
w/c
7/2/2011

Week 8
w/c 14/2/2011

Mon

Rest day

Rest day

Rest day

Rest day

Rest day

Rest day

Rest day

Rest day

Tues

Run 1 minute, walk 2 minutes – repeat 6 times

Run 2 minutes, walk 2-4 minutes – repeat 5 times

Run 3 minutes, walk 3 minutes – repeat 4 times

Run 5 minutes, walk 3 minutes – repeat 3 times

Run 7 minutes, walk 2 minutes – repeat 3 times

Run 8 minutes, walk 2 minutes – repeat 3 times

Run 12 minutes, walk 2 minutes – repeat 2 times

Run 15 minutes, walk 1 to 3 minutes – repeat 2 times

Wed

Rest day

Rest day

Rest day

Rest day

Rest day

Rest day

Rest day

Rest day

Thur

Run 1 minute, walk 2 minutes – repeat 6 times

Run 1 minute, walk 1 minutes – repeat 10 times

Run 3 minutes, walk 3 minutes – repeat 4 times

Run 5 minutes, walk 3 minutes – repeat 3 times

Run 7 minutes, walk 2 minutes – repeat 3 times

Run 10 minutes, walk 2 minutes – repeat 2 times

Run 12 minutes, walk 2 minutes – repeat 2 times

Run 15 minutes, walk 1 to 3 minutes – repeat 2 times

Fri

Rest day

Rest day

Rest day

Rest day

Rest day

Rest day

Rest day

Rest day

Sat

Rest day

Rest day

Rest day

Rest day

Rest day

Rest day

Rest day

Rest day

Sun

Run 1 minute, walk 1 minutes – repeat 10 times

Run/walk 1 mile.

Run 3 minutes, walk 1 to 3 minutes – repeat 5 times

Run/walk 1 mile, and try to repeat.

Run 8 minutes, walk 2 minutes – repeat 3 times

Run 1 mile, then walk/run 1 mile.

Run 2 miles.

Run 2 miles, then 1 mile walk/run or 5km race

falling into the trap of doing too much is not the aim so I am just going to concentrate on the running and see if I can sustain it for a week see if I like it and if I can actually do it.   I am going to continue with my gym sessions and will record it with my Polar HRM. I would like to buy some new running shoes if I take to it. I need to make sure I am stretching enough before I start to avoid shin splints.

Leave a Reply

